One Way on How To Write A Novel

So, some people are great at just writing and writing and then writing more. They don’t require any planning to write a great novel.

But that’s very uncommon.

A large majority of authors have to write out a plan for what they want to write. As well as they have to write notes on characters, plot-line, setting, etc…

Of course, this varies from author to author.

My way of doing things is writing as I go. At the same time, I write down notes about my characters, plot, setting, etc… Primarily, I write important notes about my character and about their development. A big thing is having those little details easily forgotten as you write. Things like your side character having sea-foam green eyes.

Although, you’re your own author. I don’t know what you need to plan and what you don’t, but I have some basic advice to help you out.

First off, I have a recommendation. I found this app that allows you to store and plan novels, as many as you want. It also is helpful if, out of nowhere, inspiration strikes, but you’re in the middle of writing a separate novel. Either way, the app stores just about anything having to do with the novel your planning.

Even if you don’t take full advantage of this (which I strongly recommend you do even though I don’t [hehe]), there are some features you definitely should use.

Every now and then, you probably  get ideas about what should happen in your novel in the later parts of it. So, write down those ideas!!! Don’t forget them!!! They’re usually your best ideas, and they’re what make the story amazing!

Another thing is writing down information about the characters you might forget. When I was editing my novel, I realized that while writing I did something I call, ‘Character Contradicting’. This is when you initially say something about a character (for example: They have played baseball their whole life), and then you say something that contradicts that later (for example: He hasn’t played sports since he was little). Often these are the facts that aren’t always hugely important to the story-line (though they can be), but are still important to the character and their development.

Or, you can plan out the whole story. Whatever works for you, one of the best way if you never want to struggle for ideas is to write down notes for every chapter. Write down what events need to be written out longer, which ones are simply filler events, and which ones are extremely important to the story. If they are important to the story, then they need to be fairly detailed. Keeping this note will help you know what you’re writing before you actually go and write it.

Also, foreshadowing is a key element to have (have you ever read a good book that didn’t have foreshadowing?). Along side this is symbolism. Both of these keep the story at a level that’s more than a story. It becomes an interactive story that is relatable to the readers life.

Plus it makes you look deep and stuff.

One thing I have in my novel is the main character continuously comparing herself to a thornless rose. The thornless rose is a symbol that continues throughout the story to define the main character, as well as assist her in escaping the idea of having a set definition. A foreshadowing I did was when my main character made a wish on a star. She wished for a future wish, which showed that later something would occur in which she needed that wish. And on my very last page, OF THE EPILOGUE, she used her wish.

During the writing process I had actually forgotten some of my planned foreshadowing, and I had to add them in where I wanted them. So, it’s best, if you make a note of the things that you want to be important throughout the duration of the novel. Don’t let yourself forget these important facts!!! They are some of the most memorable moments in a novel!!!

Really, you can’t write a novel in one go without making notes here and there. Unless you just reread your work over and over and over again.

Now, once you know what you plan to write, actually write! Make a deal with yourself to write so much a day. The most successful novels, depending on their genres, run from 70,000 to 80,000 words. Fantasy and dystopian often run at a lot higher rate. Either way, if you write at least two thousand words a day, by the end of the month you’ll have roughly 60,000 words. I, on average, write ten thousand words a day.

No, this is not all in one novel!

Writing is just my life. Its the highlight of my day, and it is my escape from all the stress the world has to offer. It’s like a free land where you create the laws and rules, if you so choose to have them at all.

I write lyrics, poems, short stories, fanfictions, and, of course, novels. (A lot of my basic work that I don’t plan to get published can be found on wattpad. Username is MMDelphine4) Basically, if it can be written, I write it.

Doing so much writing in a single day truly improves your writing skills. It’s something I surely recommend. No, you don’t have to be a writing nut like me, but writing things outside of your comfort zone will be extremely helpful for your writing career. It’ll help you to be a much better writer.

Now, I can’t tell you how you precisely can come up with an idea for your novel. Everyone is different and everyone finds inspirtation in a different place! Of course, I have some techniques, but those are for a later blog. For now, I’ll just say keep your main topic original and keep it you. Make sure that when people read your story, they’re reading your story and not a version of someone else’s.

Be sure to plan your story well and in the way best suited for you. I don’t know how your mind works, but hopefully this whole thing has proven helpful!

Remember to stick to whatever schedule you make for yourself!

Now, get writing!!!

 

Leave a Reply

