Escapesism At It’s Finest

Life’s hectic. I’m pretty sure everyone can agree on that. No matter who you are or where you live, life is a constant series of events. The thing is the world never stops spinning, nor does time ever stop ticking. Therefore, there is always another thing happening. 

Getting away from the daily norm of this, that, then this with the occasional surprise of something unexpected, is something just about everyone craves. That dream getaway that costs an arm and a leg. A camping trip in the local campgrounds. Or even a staycation at the local hotel.

Everyone tries to get away. 

Of course, when you’re an adult, it’s your money to spend. When you’re my age (16), you can’t just go up to mom and dad and say, “Let’s go to Chicago!” Sadly, it’s not up to me when/if we go on vacation. It’s their choice. 

Now, I’m not going to pretend that adults can just go away whenever they so please. I’m well aware that work schedules exist, as well as other cost exspenses. 

This is why I write. Well, one of the many reasons I write. 

I’ve noticed that recently my stress level has been sky-rocketing. I have a lot on my plate, and at times it can feel overwhelming. And just imagining next year terrifies me! (Instead of just four honors/AP classes, it’ll be FIVE!) Also, not only school stuff, but all the other things life has to offer are weighing on my shoulders!

It’s a lot for anyone to handle. Not only that, but there are plenty of people who handle so much more! The things I carry on my plate aren’t nearly as heavy as other people’s. 

I try doing things like yoga and meditation to reduce stress, and it works a little, but not nearly enough! The thing is, I need more than just to reduce my stress. I need to no longer feel a part of this world. 

Personally, I think that’s why people like tv and books so much. Sure, it can have an entertaining story. But besides that, it gives us an exit from our world. Even if for only twenty minutes, we can practically exist somewhere else for a short period of time. 

Escapism

What is escapism? 

It’s pretty much what it sounds like, to be honest. 

Escapism means: the tendency to seek distraction and relief from unpleasant realities, especially by seeking entertainment or engaging in fantasy.

And that is precisely what I do when I write. My writing is my way to a different world. It’s that fantasy I have thought up and already lived, now getting to be relived by being written down. That or its a way of expressing my feelings while esisting in a parallel world! 

Writing is the best way for me to handle my stress. 

Of course, I have other means too, but writing has proved most efficient, because I have found that it’s my best form of escapism. 

Besides writing, reading and watching tv are great too! I know a lot of people say tv is terrible, but if it’s used in moderation, it can be great as a stress reliever. And if you don’t do a lot of reading or writing, give it a shot. You’d be surprised at how helpful it can be!

See you next post!

Follow, like, comment!

Leave a Reply

